Whatsoever things are lovely….think on these things..”

20120514-155931.jpg

Whatsoever things are lovely (friendly towards)…..think (to take an inventory) on these things (follow).” Philippians 4:8 KJV/Strongs

A few weeks ago the Lord brought this scripture to my remembrance, I have been pondering it ever since.

It started one morning not long ago. My husband and I were having a couple of bad days, and the first thing when I awoke I wanted to say something mean & unlovely, to remind him I had remembered. Wives we seem to have our own little bucket full of rocks & darts, our little remembrances of everything that only we know about our husbands, all the bad things. So when we are hurting we go to that bucket, find the appropriate rock or dart, and start throwing! “You hurt me!” “Take that, I remember!”

Well this certain morning the Lord would not let me throw my dart! “Whatsoever things are lovely…..” My heart was condemned!! I was silent. The Lord was talking to me.

I need to get my heart right, long before I can start “thinking” of the lovely things.

I know the scripture says to “think” on these things, but wait, my heart is not right. “For as he thinketh in his heart, so is he…(Proverbs 23:7a KJV) What I say is going to reflect my heart. So my heart needs to change. I need to forgive, forget and replace that hurt with love!

That means, ladies, we need to dump our buckets, yes even those tiny little pebbles that seem to linger in the bottom of the pail.

Buckets over turned, inventory taken, remember the lovely things, the things that made you fall in love with your man.

Think on these things, follow after friendly thoughts, speaking words in love, not hate & wrath. Forgive, let it go!

This is my new mission, forgive & forget & love, because, “I know I can do ALL things through Christ which strengtheneth me.” (Philippians 4:13 KJV isn’t this significant that this passage is in the same chapter of the above scripture, Philippians 4:8!)

This is my only hope of change, is through Him, and by Him, my Jesus!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

